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NEW CPBN CONSUMER MEMBER 
We are pleased to announce that Governor 

Sandoval has appointed Tracy DiFillippo, Esq., to serve 
as Consumer Member. Tracy is an attorney with 
Armstrong Teasdale in Las Vegas. She replaces former 
Consumer Member Paul Jackson. 

CA RENEWALS 
The next Chiropractor's Assistant renewals will 

be for Qlli:. year, due on or before January 1, 2013. 
Thereafter, CA renewals will be due every two years on 
or before January 1 of even-numbered years. 

January 1, 2014 is the first renewal deadline 
when Chiropractor's Assistants will be required to 
provide evidence that they have attended 12 hours of 
Board-approved continuing education. All approved 
courses attended during 2011 through 2013 will be 
accepted. 

Approved continuing education courses for CAs 
are listed on the Board's website: 
http://chirobd.nv.gov/guery-CESeminarsCAonly.asp. 

DC RENEWALS 
The two-year DC renewals are due on or before 

January 1, 2013. 36 hours of continuing education are 
required except for new licensees whose licenses were 
issued during calendar years 2011 and 2012. Continuing 
education courses are listed on the Board's website: 
http://chirobd.nv.gov/guery-CESeminarsDConly.asp. 

The lists are regularly updated. If you have 
questions or concerns, contact the Board office at 
775-688-1921 for assistance. 

PAPER RENEWALS 
An additional $25.00 will be assessed for the 

cost of processing paper renewals submitted by mail. 
There will be no additional charge for online 
renewals. 

PRECEPTOR PROGRAM 
We are continuing to work on the approval 

process and hope to have the regulations approved by 
the Legislative Commission this coming December, 
2012. 

LETTER FROM THE PRESIDENT 

Be careful! Groupons or similar 
advertising has recently been deemed illegal in 
Oregon, and other states are looking closely at this 
matter. It is currently legal for DC practices in 
Nevada to offer such deals. But, as with all 
advertising, the wording and the giveaway must 
comply with Nevada law. Some things to consider 
if you decide to utilize this type of marketing: 1) A 
copy of a document explaining what is free and 
what you will charge for must be signed by the 
patient and kept in his/her file; 2) the name of at 
least one chiropractor must be included in the 
promotion, 3) the term "specialist" or "expert," 
unless you are registered with the Board as such, 
are usually not allowed, and 4) any free diagnostic 
service(s) have to be complete enough to make a 
proper diagnosis. 

Under NRS 634.556(3), "If a 
licensee provides diagnostic services, including, 
without limitation, examinations and x-rays, free of 
charge or at a discounted rate pursuant to an 
advertisement, the licensee shall provide those 
services in a sufficiently complete and thorough 
manner so as to allow the licensee to make a 
proper diagnosis." 

Under NAC 634.556(1), "No 
separate charge may be made for the professional 
evaluation of diagnostic tests or procedures which 
are provided free of charge or at a discount, 
regardless ofwhether the professional evaluation is 
made at the time of the initial office visit or at a 
later time. " 

I recommend all licensees read the 
advertising guide for Nevada DCs found on the first 
page of the Board's website entitle: "A 
CHIROPRACTIC PHYSICIANS' GUIDE TO 
ETHICAL AND LEGAL ADVERTISING IN 
NEVADA." 

David G. Rovetti, DC 
President, CPBN 
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The CPBN has authority only over its licensees and cenijicate holders. The Board enforces Nevada Revised Statute and Nevada Administrative Code 634. 
Funding for all of its activities are derived solely from the monies collected from licensees and cenijicate holders. The CPBN has no authority to take action on 
employmellt issues, or issues that generally relate to the chiropractic profession. These matters should be addressed bv the Nevada LLibor Commission, the 
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NEW DC LICENSEES AND CHIROPRACTOR'S ASSISTANTS 

CONGRATULATIONS to the following Chiropractic Physicians who passed the test for DC licensure: 

December 14, 2011 March 13, 2012 June,2012 
Brandon Barnette, DC Heidi Shelton, DC Justin A. Goldstein, DC 
Chad Frandsen, DC Daniel D. Yen, DC Daniel W. Griffith, DC 
Casey Gilbert Little, DC April 11, 2012 Stephen K. Stornetta, DC 
Michael Heath, DC Lynelle B. McSweeney, DC July, 2012 
Michael Humpherys, DC May 9, 2012 Lloyd C. Reiter, DC 
Alexis Ranallo, DC Amy E. Borders, DC Andrea D. Hutton, DC 
January 11, 2012 David R. Ellis, DC August, 2012 
Sondra Catania, DC Richard M. Feher, DC Joseph G. Ramsey, III, DC 
February 8, 2012 Collin H. Higo, DC September, 2012 
Cory Henderson, DC Brandon L. Todd, DC Jessica L. Durso, DC 
William Kuch, DC Michael T. Weide, DC 
Robert Moore, DC 

The jurisprudence examinations for DC applicants are administered at the Board's office complex 
in Reno, Nevada on the second Wednesday of each month: 

2012 2013 
October 10 January 9 April 10 July 10 
November 14 February 13 May8 August 14 
December 12 March 13 June 12 September 11 

***** 
CONGRATULATIONS ALSO to those who passed the Chiropractor's Assistant te tin February, 2012: 
Sally Alldredge Monique Gomez Brandi L. Moya 
Verna Arriola Beatriz Gritton Miriam C. Ramos 
Sierra Bainbridge Briana Harrington Roberto Rodriguez 
Heather Brown Rebecca Lopez Maritza Trujillo 
Susana Diaz Dolores Maceda Katrina Whitehurst 
Ami Foster Karla Manzano-Carrillo Damaris Zuniga 
Sandy Galdamez Kelly McFarland 

And in August, 2012: 
Cecilia Bettencourt Samuel Landa Nicole Simpson 
Irene de Groot Claudia Martinez-Arriaga Bethany Skelton 
Jessica Easton Yadira Munoz Lacey Smith 
Nataly Esparza Rebecca Ortiz Janet Stewart 
Diana Hernandez-Espana Mariana Pundsack Crystal Stott 
Brian Herrera Katherine Ramey Iveth Villalba 
Michelle Hitchcock Nonna Rodriguez 

The next examinations for Chiropractor's Assistants will be administered at the Board's office 
complex in Reno and at the Southern Nevada Community College in Las Vegas on March 1, 2013 
to applicants who have completed the six months of on-job-training or the equivalent education. 

"An applicant for a certificate as a chiropractor's assistant must file an application with the Board 
on a form furnished by the Board and pay the required fee WITIIlN 15 DAYS after the date on which 
the applicant has begun performing duties as a chiropractor's assistant." (NAC 634.350(1)) 
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DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS 

Corazon Murillo, DC, License No. B647 
In a hearing on March 10, 2012 Dr. Murillo 

was found in violation of NRS 634.018(5), (11) and 
(17) and 634.140(1) and NAC 634.430(l)(q) for 
failing to provide the fingerprint documents as 
required by NRS 622.360, and that she was also in 
violation of NRS 634.018(17) and 634.140(1) for 
failing to surrender her license certificate and wallet 
cards as previously agreed. 

Dr. Murillo's license was permanently 
revoked effective April 3, 2012. Within 30 days, 
Dr. Murillo is required to reimburse the Board's 
fees and costs of investigation and prosecution in 
this matter totaling $360, and pay a fine of $5,000 
for each of the two causes of action, a total fine of 
$10,000. 

Ned ''Mike" Moriearty, DC, License No. B1440 
In a hearing on March 10, 2012 Dr. 

Moriearty admitted to violations of NRS 634.018( 1) 
and/or (10) and/or NRS 634.140(1) and/or NRS 
634.227(l)(b) in that he made substantive 
misrepresentations on his application for licensure 
by not informing the Board that he had been 
licensed in Arizona and that his Arizona license had 
been subjected to discipline. 

Dr. Moriearty entered into a Settlement 
Agreement in which he agreed to surrender his 
license. He may not apply for a new license until 
after April 24, 2014. 

David Streng, DC, License No. B1207 
After two days of hearing, June 2 and July 

14, 2012, Dr. Streng was found guilty on two counts 
each for violations of NRS 634.018(5), (10), (11) 
and (17), NRS 634.140(1) and NAC 634.435(1) for 
making and maintaining medical records that were 
not accurate. Dr. Streng was also found guilty on 
two counts each for violations of NRS 634.018(5), 
(10), (11) and (17), NRS 634.140(1) and NAC 
634.430(1)(f) and (m) for submitting bills or claims 
for payment for services that were not performed. 

Dr. Streng was ordered to take and pass the 
Board's jurisprudence exam and the National 
Board's Ethics and Boundaries exam within 90 
days. He must also complete 12 hours of continuing 
education on ethics and boundaries and 12 hours on 
billing and coding. He must pay the Board's costs 
of $17,828.33 and $11,000.00 in fines. 
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Dr. Streng was placed on a two-year 
probation during which, at his expense, his practice 
of chiropractic will be monitored for compliance. 

***** 

GUIDELINES FOR CLASS IV LASER USE 
A Class IV device must be designed, 

designated and issued as a Class IV Therapeutic 
Laser only, not "industrial," "surgical" or "military" 
grade; 

A Class IV Therapeutic laser cannot emit an 
ablative beam and may not be utilized for ablation 
(cutting or burning of tissues, or hair removal) 
under any circumstances by either a DC or a CA; 
and 

A CA assisting in Class IV Therapeutic 
Laser may not be trained solely by a DC or by any 
other employee of a practice, but must be trained by 
an educational institution or through a bona fide 
laser device manufacturer/company distributing the 
Class IV Therapeutic Laser device. This means that 
each staff person performing Class IV Therapeutic 
Laser in a practice must be individually trained to 
use the device and thus be able to produce proof of 
such training upon request. 

These guidelines to not apply to "cold" or 
"low-level" lasers, which are usually Class II and 
Ill lasers. 

***** 

BOARD MEMBERS: 
Dr. David G. Rovetti, President, Reno 

Dr. Benjamin S. Lurie, Vice President, Las Vegas 
Dr. Jack Nolle, Secretary-Treasurer, Reno 

Dr. Lawrence Davis, Member, Reno 
Dr. Annette Zaro, Member, Las Vegas 

Tracy Difillippo, Esq., Consumer Member, Las 
Vegas 

Shell Mercer, Esq., Consumer Member, Las Vegas 

HOW TO CONTACT THE BOARD: 
Chiropractic Physicians' Board of Nevada 

4600 Kietzke Lane, Suite M245 
Reno, Nevada 89502-5000 
Telephone: 77 5-688-1921 
Voice Mail: 775-688-1919 
Facsimile: 775-688-1920 

E-mail: chirobd@chirobd.nv.gov 
Website: http://chirobd.nv.gov 

Executive Director: Cindy Wade 

http:http://chirobd.nv.gov
mailto:chirobd@chirobd.nv.gov
http:11,000.00
http:17,828.33


STANDARDS FOR RECORD KEEPING 

The Board is often asked questions about patient records (including x-rays). Here is a list 
of some, but not all, of the things you need to know. 

Your patient records must: 

• Contain a list of chief complaint(s) 

• Contain a history of the health of the patient 

• Contain a treatment plan 

• Be clear, legible, complete and accurate 

• Contain the areas of the body that were treated and the patient's response to treatment. 

• Be completed within 72 hours of treating or examining the patient 

• Must be kept for five years according to State law; seven years according to federal 
Medicare law 

• Current standards for record completeness state that negative tests, such as normal range 
of motion or normal reflexes, be indicated as such and not simply left blank on an 
examination form 

With regard to patient record requests: 

• Patient records must be sent out within five (5) business days following a valid request 

• For most patient records, you may charge up to, but no more than, $.60 per page, plus 
reasonable charges for copying radiographs, plus postage. For copying records related to 
a worker's compensation claim, you may charge up to, but no more than $.30 per page. 
A signed worker's comp C-4 form has sufficient wording in the release to give legal 
protection for you to provide all records to those listed on the release. For records 
requested by a patient or their representative to support a Social Security claim, no 
monies may be charged 

• Billing records are considered patient records. Unless requested not to do so by the 
requesting party, they should be included with the clinical records 

• Although legal to do so, most doctors do not charge other doctors for copying and 
sending patient records to each other 

Violation(s) of any of the statutes or regulations regarding patient records may result in 
disciplinary action from the Board and/or malpractice lawsuits. 

Please remember, if not documented or recorded it was, in effect, NOT DONE. 

Benjamin S. Lurie, DC 
Vice President, CPBN 




